GROUPS AT THE JOURNEY

We offer many different types of groups here at The Journey. Life Groups, Sports teams, recreational groups, and gender specific groups. All of our groups offer a way to connect with others at The Journey and to grow in your faith. Groups meet in homes, 

at The Journey Church, and at other locales in our community. If you have questions, contact us at groups@thejourneynova.org


Fall Life Groups

 

 

SUNDAY

Family Fellowship & Fun—Between services, Weekly

Location: The Journey Playground

Purpose: A time for families to fellowship while kids play. Will also host occasional Friday playdates.

Contact: Casey Eggleston, casey.m.eggleston@gmail.com

 

Korean Fellowship—12:15 PM, Weekly

Location: The Journey, Middle School Room

Purpose: Fellowship time

Contact: Hwan Chae, hwan@teamchae.com


Life Group—12:30-2:00 PM

Location: The Journey, Refuel Room

Purpose: Sermon Series

Contact: Erich & Karla Pfleeger, kpfleeger@ffpcs.com


Life Group—1:00-2:30 PM

Location: 6820 Silassi Ct., Lorton

Purpose: Sermon Series; group for 40s/50s

Contact: Brad Courtney, bradrcourtney@yahoo.com


Life Group - 2:30-4:00 PM, Every Other Week

Location: 7420 Salford Court, Alexandria, VA

Study: Sermon Series

For Young Professionals

Contact: Gary Mitchell - gary@thejourneynova.org


Life Group—4:00-5:15 PM, Weekly

Location: 6021 Green Meadow Court, Alexandria, VA

Study: Christian Community

Contact: Mike & Kathleen Ambroso, kathleenambroso@gmail.com

 

Life Group—4:00-6:00 PM, 1st/3rd/5th Sundays

Location: The Journey, Middle School Room

Study: Big Questions of Faith

Contact: Carson & Zori Reed, carsonereed@gmail.com

 

Life Group—4:45-6:15 PM, Every Other Week

Location: 6484 Waterfield Road, Alexandria, VA

Study: Sermon Series

Contact: Andy & Leanne Gassaway, alhs01@msn.com



Life Group—6:30-8:00 PM, Every Other Week

Location: 6520 Summerton Way, Springfield, VA

Study: The Promises of Jesus

Contact: Eric & Sandra Spencer, spencer@spenc.org

 

REFUEL Teen Ministry—6:30-8:00 PM, Weekly

Location: The Journey, Auditorium

Purpose: We do a fun activity, have short lesson (studying Old Testament stories this school year), then break out into small groups where we strive to grow in relationship with each other and with Jesus Christ.

Contact: Ryan McGhee, teens@thejourneynova.org

 

 

MONDAY

Challenge Your Mindset—6:30-8:00 PM, Weekly

Location: The Journey

Purpose: 8 Week Workshop starting September 30. Learn and practice how to apply Scripture, prayer, and the church to address your mental health concerns

Contact: Kathleen Ambroso, kathleenambroso@gmail.com

 

 

TUESDAY

Ladies’ Book Club—10:00 AM-12:00 PM, Monthly

Location: The Journey, Middle School Room

Materials: “The Art Forger” by B.A. Shapiro

Contact: Debbie Harding, sdsmh@verizon.net

Notes: All are welcome to a meet & greet on Tuesday, September 24 to get more information and get to know one another. We may add social or volunteer events as the group desires.

 

Financial Peace University (FPU)—6:30-8:00 PM,

Starts Sept 24 for 9 Weeks

Location: The Journey, High School Room

Materials: Financial Peace University by Dave Ramsey

Contact: Andrew & Kirsten Baldacci, kirstenbaldacci@gmail.com

 

Women’s Life Group—7:00-8:30 pm, Weekly

Location: The Journey

Study: Sermon Series

Contact: Christy Moriarty, christymoriarty@yahoo.com

 


WEDNESDAY

Journey Mom's—9:30-11:00 AM, 3rd Wednesdays

Location: The Journey, 2 & 3 Year Old Room)

Study: Devotions for encouragement with other moms

Contact: Rachel Swenson, rachel.swenson.21@gmail.com

 

Life Group—5:00-6:00 PM, Weekly

Location: Location will vary based on group decisions, plan is to meet at child-friendly locations

Study: Sermon Series

Contact: Phil & Kourtney Thomas, kourtneylewis49@gmail.com

 

Men’s Life Group—6:30-8:00 PM, Weekly

Location: The Journey

Study: No Excuses by Dr. Tony Evans

Contact:  David Marr, dcmarr14@gmail.com

 

Life Group—7:00-8:30 PM, Weekly

Location: 6007 Thomas Dr, Springfield, VA

Study: Momentum Video Series

Contact: Pete & Vicki Becker, vbecker416@gmail.com

 


THURSDAY

Men’s Life Group—6:00-6:45 AM, Weekly

Location: Chick-Fil-A, Backlick Rd

Study: Paul's Letters

Contact: Chad Simpkins, chad@thejourneynova.org

 

Ladies Coffee Break—10:00-11:30 AM, Weekly

Location: The Journey

Study: Determined, a Study of Luke

Contact: Wallene Frank, wallene.frank@gmail.com

 

Life Group—7:00-8:30 PM, Every Other Week

Location: The Journey

Study: Books of the New Testament

Contact: Steve Harding, sdsmh@verizon.net



FRIDAY

Homeschool Hangout—1:00-2:30 PM, Monthly

Location: The Journey

Note: First meeting is November 1st

Contact: Kristie Shirley, kshirley75@yahoo.com

 

Life Group—7:00-8:30 PM, Every Other Week

Location: 7594 Springfield Hills, Springfield, VA

Study: “Victory in Spiritual Warfare” by Tony Evans

Contact: Bernie Frank, berniefrank1982@gmail.com

 

Celebrate Recovery—7:00-10:00 PM, Weekly

Location: Calvary Road Baptist, 6811 Beulah St, Cottage B

Purpose: Christ-centered 12 step recovery program

Contact: Barb Hall, fitnessfun@verizon.net


SATURDAY

Journey Men—8:00-9:30 AM, 1st Saturdays

Location: The Journey, Auditorium

Description: Open to all men. Breakfast and video series.

Contact: Brad Courtney, men@thejourneynova.org

 

Journey Women—9:00-11:00 AM, 2nd Saturdays

Location: The Journey, Auditorium

Description: Open to all women. Fellowship and worship.

Contact: Maureen Fletcher, women@thejourneynova.org

 

Journey Outdoors—8:00 AM, 3rd Saturdays

Location: Meet at The Journey, destination varies monthly

Purpose: Explore the outdoors and local special events

Contact: Renee Mowery, r.m.mowery@gmail.com

Notes: Email Renee to get on the monthly email list for information on upcoming hikes or activities



OTHER GROUPS

RESERVED - Dinner Group - Monthly

Location: Varied

Purpose: To meet and eat together at different local restaurants

Contact Steve Harding - sdsmh@verizon.net